Gulu University VC, Prof. Openjuru awarded African Educationist of the Year 2023

Gulu University VC, Prof. Openjuru awarded African Educationist of the Year 2023

Prof. Openjuru, George Ladaah the Gulu University Vice-Chancellor who doubles as the Chairperson of Uganda Vice-Chancellor’s Forum has been awarded the Educationist of the Year 2023 by African Leadership Magazine in the UK.

The Vice-Chancellor was accompanied by the Chairperson University Council, Mrs. Theresa Mary Obbo, the University Secretary, Obol David Otori, Nyeko John the University Bursar, Dr. Jerry Bagaya the Academic Registrar, Ojok James Onono the University Communications Officer, the Guild President, Okot Francis and other University officers.

Justice Martha K. Koome, the Chief Justice and President of the Supreme Court of Kenya awarded Professor Openjuru George Ladaah the accolade for the educationist of the year.

The Vice-Chancellor was awarded for his charismatic leadership at Gulu University and spirited fight to keep the university more relevant to the community in post conflict northern Uganda with the community transformational pedagogy approach in research and learning embedded in all the faculties of the University.

Prof. Openjuru, George Ladaah polled a record 81.57 percent in an online voting by December 2023 to claim the African Educationalist of the Year.

Dr. Gen Giami, Chairman African Leadership Magazine Organization said for over twelve years the Magazine has been advocating and promoting good image of the continent to the globe amidst bullying and negative propaganda on Africa.

“To all the awardees, let this be a call to do more because you are the Nelson Mandelas, Esthers, Joseph of today”. He said.

His Excellency, Dr. Jakaya Kikwete the former President of Tanzania who made the key note address said the award was a big surprise to him. He said he was concentrating on his business and got surprised by the nomination.

He said the issue of labour flight of Africans to western world needs urgent attention since great minds that should develop Africa end up developing other countries.

He also emphasized the need for political stability and dedicated his ward to the security personnel, dedicated public servants working for peace in Africa.

The glorious award ceremony with the theme ‘Building Resilient African Economies was cohosted by the Ethiopian Customs Commission from Skylight Hotel in Addisa-Ababa, Ethiopia in the evening of March,15th 2024 attracted Africa’s renown politicians including His Excellency. Jakaya Kikwete the former President of Tanazania, Fonati Koffa, Speaker House of Representatives, Liberia, Anyalem Nigussie, Ethipian Minister of Revenue.

Below is the complete list of winners and runners-up/joint-winners in the 10 categories of African Leadership Magazine, African Persons of the Year Awards 2023.

African of the Year
1. E William Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya- Winner
2. Benedict Okey Oramah, President & Chairman, African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank)- Joint-winner

African Female Leader of the Year
1. Naseem Lahri, Managing Director, Lucara Botswana – Winner
2. Justice Martha K. Koome, Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya – Joint-winner

African Educationist of the Year
1. George L. Openjuru, Vice Chancellor, Gulu University, Uganda- Winner
2. Kwamena Kwansah-Aidoo, Vice-Chancellor, University of Media, Arts and Communication, Ghana – Joint-winner

African Political Leader of the Year
1. E. George Manneh Weah, President of the Republic of Liberia- Winner
2. E. Samia Suluhu Hassan, President of the United Republic of Tanzania- Joint-winner

African Peace & Security Leader of the Year
1. E. Dr Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, former President of the United Republic of Tanzania- Winner
2. E. Adama Barrow, President of the Republic of The Gambia- Joint-winner

African Industrialist of the Year
1. Patrick Bitature, Founder & Chairman, Simba Group, Uganda- Winner
2. Said Salim Awadh Bakhresa, Founder, The Bakhresa Group, Tanzania- Joint-winner

African Philanthropist of the Year
1. Tein T. S. Jack-Rich, President & Founder, Belemaoil Producing Limited, Nigeria- Winner
2. Ibrahim Mahama, Founder, Engineers and Planners, Ghana- Joint-winner

Young African Leader of the Year
1. Akol E. Ayii, Founder & Chairman, Trinity Group, South Sudan- Winner
2. Dr. Jesca Mhoja Nkwabi, CEO, KOM Group, Tanzania- Joint-winner

African Public Sector Leader of the Year
1. Ernest N.T. Rubondo, Executive Director, Petroleum Authority of Uganda- Winner
2. Saptieu Elizabeth Saccoh, Administrator & Registrar-General of Sierra Leone- Joint-winner

African Public Health Leader of the Year
1. The Hon. Dr Kailesh Jagutpal, Minister of Health and Wellness, Mauritius- Winner
2. Dr. Matshidiso Moeti, Regional Director for Africa, World Health Organization (WHO)- Joint-winner

Share this post

Leave a Reply